Opinion: Springing Forward
March 25, 2014
Interview with SONiA (disappear fear)
March 26, 2014

Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund Endorses 21 LGBT Political Candidates

Endorsement includes one Maryland candidate for state delegate

The Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund, the nation’s largest resource for out LGBT individuals in politics endorsed 21 candidates for public office.

“Victory is proud to announce another diverse slate of candidates for public office this month,” says Torey Carter, Chief Operating Officer at the Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund. “These 21 candidates represent each region of the United States and will better increase LGBT public official representation. For the 2014 cycle Victory has endorsed 92 out LGBT candidates and we expect to endorse more than 200 out LGBT candidates this year.”

Endorsed Candidates

  • Cathy Callahan – Candidate for Circuit Court Judge, Oregon
  • Spencer Dove – Candidate for State Delegate, Maryland
  • Coy Flowers – Candidate for State Representative, West Virginia
  • Robert Garcia – Candidate for Mayor of Long Beach, California
  • Jay Hansen – Candidate for School Board of Sacramento, California
  • Christopher Proudfoot – Candidate for City Council of Salem, Oregon
  • Diane Sands – Candidate for State Senate, Montana
  • Stella Ursua – Candidate for Long Beach City College Board of Trustees, California

Incumbent Endorsed Candidates

  • Henry Beck – Candidate for State Representative, Maine
  • Bryce Bennett – Candidate for State Representative, Montana
  • Mike Colona – Candidate for State Representative, Missouri
  • Scott Gruendl – Candidate for City Council of Chico, California
  • James Healey – Candidate for State Representative, Nevada
  • Tina Kotek – Candidate for State House, Oregon
  • Donna Nesselbush – Candidate for State Senate, Rhode Island
  • Mark Pocan – Candidate for Congress, Wisconsin
  • Stan Rosenberg – Candidate for State Senate, Massachusetts
  • Joe Shaw – Candidate for City Council of Huntington Beach, California
  • John Turner McClelland – Candidate for President of the Board of Directors Denton County Fresh Water Supply District, Texas
  • JoCasta Zamarripa – Candidate for State Representative, Wisconsin