A Behind the Scenes Interview with Be Steadwell
May 6, 2014
Photos: Ladies Tea at Hank's Oyster Bar
May 8, 2014

Capital Pride Announces 2014 Heroes

Group at Capital Pride Heroes Gala

2013 Capital Pride Heroes Gala — Photo by Kristin Horgen

Capital Pride recently announced the recipients of the Annual 2014 Capital Pride Heroes Award, the TransPride Engendered Spirits, and the winners of awards named for the late founding board members of the Capital Pride Alliance, Bill Miles and Larry Stansbury. The recipients will be honored at the Capital Pride Heroes Gala & Silent Auction on Wednesday, May 21, 7:00-10:00 p.m., at the Artisphere, 1101 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA.

Each year members of the community nominate individuals who have helped to further the rights of LGBTQ causes. A committee of Capital Pride’s Board of Directors recommended this year’s top LGBTQ heroes from among those nominations. In addition to the Gala, the Heroes and Engendered Spirits are honored throughout the two-week celebration of Pride.

The 2014 Capital Pride Heroes are Nicholas Benton, David Perez, Rev. Dean Snyder, Dr. Imani Woody, and Tom Yates; the Engendered Spirits are Amy Nelson and Alexa Rodriguez; the Bill Miles Award Winner is Al Pellenberg; and the Larry Stansbury Award winner is Robert York.

The 2014 Heroes Gala is presented by Hilton Hotels & Resorts. Additional event sponsors include the Artisphere, Absolute Barefoot Wine & Bubbly, Celebrity Cruises, Rainbow Floral Studios, State Farm Insurance, UBER, Verizon, and Wells Fargo.

For complete biographies of the awardees and more information about the Heroes Gala & Silent Auction, visit the Capital Pride website at www.capitalpride.org/heroes.